Anti-Bullying Information (HIB)

Harassment, Intimidation, Bullying Definition from NJSA: 18A:37-14:

"Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents, that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, c.122 (C.18A:37-15.3), that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

  1. a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property;
  2. has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or
  3. creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student's education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

L.2002, c.83, s.2; amended 2007, c.129, s.1; 2010, c.122, s.11.


Anti-Bullying Coordinator/Specialists: Contact Information

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator:
Ellyn Atherton, Director of HR/PD, Affirmative Action Officer
139 Mountain Ave. Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext 5291
eatherton@springfieldschools.com

Walton Primary School Anti-Bullying Specialist:
Christine Saliceti, School Counselor
601 Mountain Ave., Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext 2001
csaliceti@springfieldschools.com

Caldwell Elementary School Anti-Bullying Specialist:
Marnie Cunningham, School Counselor
36 Caldwell Place, Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext. 4026
mcunningham@springfieldschools.com

Sandmeier Elementary School Anti-Bullying Specialist:
Bonnie Loew, School Counselor
666 South Springfield Ave. Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext. 3010
bloew@springfieldschools.com

Gaudineer Middle School Anti-Bullying Specialists:
Lillian Abadir Chou, School Counselor
Virginia Olive, School Counselor
75 South Springfield Ave., Springfield, NJ 07081
973, 376,1025, ext 1238, 1237
lchou@springfieldschools.com
volive@springfieldschools.com

Jonathan Dayton High School Anti-bullying Specialist:
Jackie Ritter, School Counselor
139 Mountain Ave., Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext. 5334
jritter@springfieldschools.com

Jonathan Dayton High School Anti-bullying Specialist:
Darlene Hill, School Counselor
139 Mountain Ave., Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext. 5247
dhill@springfieldschools.com

Jonathan Dayton High School Anti-bullying Specialist:
Anthony Vecchione, School Counselor
139 Mountain Ave., Springfield, NJ 07081
973.376.1025, ext. 5336
avecchione@springfieldschools.com


Links

Reporting Form 
HIB Policy 5512
HIB Q & A
HIB Timeline
Guidance for Schools on Implementing the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act
NJDoE Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Q & A
NJDoE HIB Website
kidsAgainstBullying
Stomp Out Bullying
StopBullying.gov
Stop Bullying: Speak Up
Stop Bullying Now!
ABR Self Assessment

 

 

 

Contact Us
Springfield Public Schools
139 Mountain Avenue
Springfield, NJ 07081
Phone: 973-376-1025

Disclaimer