Student Support Services

Tiffany Boehm

Director of Student Support Services
Board Office
139 Mountain Avenue
Springfield, NJ 07081
973-376-1025, Ext. 2595

Special Education Parent Advisory Committee (SEPAC)

Message from Student Support Services
Welcome to the Springfield Department of Special Services! The district provides a range of educational services that are designed to provide learning in a variety of placements to meet the learning and behavioral needs of students in the “least restrictive environment.”  These include regular class placement with support in the general education setting, resource centers, self-contained programs and specialized placements.

The department is comprised of Child Study Team members, related service providers, special education teachers, and other specialists who:  

  • Evaluate students identified as potentially disabled or students who may be in need of speech/language services.
  • Develop IEPs for students who are eligible for special education or speech/language services.
  • Implement special education and related services identified as per the IEP.
  • Monitor the special education program and related services.
  • Provide consultation as needed.

Parents are encouraged to maintain ongoing communication with their case manager, teachers and therapists to enhance the home-school partnership.  A special education parent organization schedules meetings throughout the year on a variety of topics.
 

Name Position School Extension Email
Ms. Tiffany Boehm Director JD 2595 tboehm@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Renee Altman Psychologist TLS 1426 raltman@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Kimberly Paz Learning Consultant FMG/JD 1231 kpaz@springfieldschools.com
Mrs. Kara King Social Worker District 5337 kking@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Genny Schwarzberg Learning Consultant JC/FMG 5273 gschwarzberg@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Regine Rousso Psychologist JD/FMG 5323 rrousso@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Jessica Salow Secretary JDHS 2498 jsalow@springfieldschools.com
Ms. Sue Walsh Secretary JDHS 1229 swalsh@springfieldschools.com
Mrs. Stacy Weiss Psychologist EVW 2457 sweiss@springfieldschools.com

 

Project Child Find Information

The Springfield Township Public School District has a responsibility to locate, identify and evaluate all resident students who are in need of special education and related services including preschool children 3-5 years of age, pupils with disabilities attending public and non-public schools, and highly mobile pupils such as migrant workers’ children and homeless children regardless of the severity of their disabilities.
     
Parents with concerns about their child should contact Tiffany Boehm, Director of Student Support Services at 973-376-1025, ext. 2595 or in writing to the Springfield Public Schools, Department of Special Services, P.O. Box 210, Springfield, New Jersey 07081.
     
Information for children with potential disabilities or those with disabilities from birth to age three is available through Project Child Find, a service established by the New Jersey Department of Education at 1-800-322-8174.
 

School Counseling & Guidance

Mission Statement

The school counseling program of the Springfield Public Schools provides opportunities for all students to acquire the educational, occupational and social competencies important to live productively and contribute significantly in a diverse and changing society.


Overview of the Department’s Services
The school counseling program in the Springfield Public Schools is designed to be comprehensive in scope and developmental in nature. Students develop competencies in academic, career and personal/social development.  Every student receives the program’s benefits as it is an integral part of each student’s total educational program. 

The services of the department are designed to meet the needs of students and parents at different stages of development.  In the elementary buildings school counselors facilitate weekly classroom sessions.  These lessons are supplemented by small group counseling to address the needs of specific students, response to specific individual needs, and referrals for families who need additional counseling services.

At Florence M. Gaudineer Middle School the school counselors work with students individually, in small groups and in the classroom. The curriculum focuses on successful adjustment to middle school and personal/social topics that are developmentally relevant to young adolescents.  Eighth graders receive assistance with transition to high school.

At the high school level successful post-secondary placement is the focus of school counseling.  Beginning with eighth grade registration, the counselor works closely with student and parents throughout high school.  Emphasis is placed on individualized services to meet the needs of the learner as he/she works to accomplish his/her goals.  By establishing a close personal relationship with the student, the counselor is able to provide effective assistance in post-secondary planning.  Academic progress is monitored closely, and career and college plans are developed.  Individual conferences are the primary method of delivery; however, small and large group counseling sessions are important components of the program.

The Student Assistance Counselor has the responsibility of responding to identified problems, preventing future problems and promoting positive and healthy behaviors for students in the middle and in the high school.  The SAC works in cooperation with school personnel, counselors, parents, and students in assisting with crisis intervention, early identification,  and  supportive individual counseling for students who are at risk for substance abuse or showing signs of other emotional, social, legal, medical and/or familial problems. 


Contact Your School Counselor
School counselors are available to assist students and parents at all grade levels.  Please contact the counselor if you have questions or concerns:
 

Name School Extension Email
Christine Saliceti EVW 2001 csaliceti@springfieldschools.com
Lillian Abadir Chou FMG 1238 lchou@springfieldschools.com
Virginia Olive FMG 1237 volive@springfieldschools.com
Joseph Cozza JDHS 5334 jcozza@springfieldschools.com
Darlene Hill JDHS 5247 dhill@springfieldschools.com
Jean Marx JD 5245 jamarx@springfieldschools.com
Cindy Ferretti JD 5246 cferretti@springfieldschools.com
Anthony Vecchione JDHS 5336 avecchione@springfieldschools.com
Bonnie Loew TLS/EVW 3039 bloew@springfieldschools.com
Maria Sista SAC (FMG/JD) 5297 msista@springfieldschools.com
Marnie Zambolla JC/EVW 4026 mzambolla@springfieldschools.com

 


Home Instruction
Should your child require home instruction for medical reasons, please contact the Special Services Department.

Additional information about the provision of special services can be requested by contacting the Special Services Department at 973-376-0948.

Contact Us
Springfield Public Schools
139 Mountain Avenue
Springfield, NJ 07081
Phone: 973-376-1025

Disclaimer